Askrigg show is a sign of a healthy rural community, says Yvonne

A present for the prize giver at the Askrigg produce show

By Betsy Everett

There were 490 entries from 104 villagers and guest exhibitors in this year’s Askrigg and District produce  show, which compared favourably with the previous five years.

Mike Dechezeaux, chair of the Association, said the show had been a great success although he would have liked to see more entries in the children’s, the floral art and home cooking sections.

“But as always I was really impressed by the quality of the entries and the time and effort that people put in to them, “ he said.
The story continues after the adverts . . .

Winners all – trophies and certificates galore

“It was particularly good to see some new entrants and some returning entrants who haven’t exhibited for a while. We had the usual fantastic support from a large number of willing helpers and I am  incredibly grateful for all the help and support given to the show once again,” he added.

Councillor Yvonne Peacock who opened the event said the show was the sign of a healthy and vibrant community and gave hope for the future of rural life, as she viewed nearly 500 entries at this year’s event.

“There is such a lot of talent on display and I think it’s so good to see people maintain this great tradition. It’s a wonderful show,” said Cllr Peacock.

She told guests that about forty years ago she was entering the show herself, and it had been ‘nerve-racking.’

“I made scones and cakes and apple pie, and then in 1986 I opened a tearoom of my own, and that was when I decided I could actually sell the things I baked. So I would say to everyone taking part today, especially the youngsters – keep it up: you never know where it might lead.”

Cllr Peacock is the leader of Richmondshire District Council and member for the Addlebrough ward which includes Askrigg and Low Abbotside.


The Hartley Cup for floral art, Mary Alderson. Craythorne Rose Bowl for horticulture, Karen Jones. Silver Rose Bowl for roses, Karen Sorsby. Shackleton Cup for vegetables, Gibson Teasdale. Askrigg Pottery  Egg Cup for eggs, Sue Stokes. Hopper Cup for preserves, Mary McDonald. Widdows Cup for tipples, Paul Connelly. Miller Cup for home cookery, Neil McNair. Craven Award for handicrafts, Melanie Clarkson. Ingilby Trophy for art, James Moffit. Woodmas Rose Bowl for photography, Gina Burt. Pre-School Prize, Eliza Metcalfe. Mayor’s Shield, infants, Clari Hodgson. Bank’s Award, local junior male, Roland Hodgson. Kings Award, local junior female, Phoebe Allenby. Bainbridge Trophy for highest scoring exhibitor, Gibson Teasdale. Best Guest, Maureen Penrose and Jane Herbert. Best guest child, Ella Penrose. Best Entry in Show (photography), Gina Burt. Best Local Child’s Entry, Clari Hodgson.

Cllr Yvonne Peacock with husband Brian Brown who dashed from the Bainbridge Motor Club show to join her in Askrigg
Sue Stokes of Bainbridge collects her trophy from Cllr Peacock
An entry in the well populated art section
Blooming sweet peas in a winning bouquet