Bin days change for Christmas and New Year holidays

Refuse and recycling collection dates across Richmondshire have been revised due to the Christmas and New Year holidays.

The district council says that up to four additional black bags may be placed out next to your bin on household’s first household waste collection after Christmas Day.

Excess glass, plastic and cans can be placed out for collection on scheduled recycling days, but residents are asked to use their boxes for all glass and place plastic and cans for collection in open carrier bags.

Bags should not be used for glass.

Christmas cards, envelopes and wrapping paper should be placed in the blue or white bag – but should only be put out on collection day to keep it dry.

Tissue paper cannot be placed in the blue/white bag – it should be placed in the grey bin.

The revised collection days are:

Normal collection day Revised collection day
Monday 23 December 2019 Collections as normal
Tuesday 24 December 2019 Collections as normal
Wednesday 25 December 2019 Friday 27 December 2019
Thursday 26 December 2019 Saturday 28 December 2019
Friday 27 December 2019 Monday 30 December 2019
Monday 30 December 2019 Tuesday 31 December 2019
Tuesday 31 December 2019 Thursday 2 January 2020
Wednesday 1 January 2020 Friday 3 January 2020
Thursday 2 January 2020 Saturday 4 January 2020
Friday 3 January 2020 Monday 6 January 2020
Monday 6 January 2020 Tuesday 7 January 2020
Tuesday 7 January 2020 Wednesday 8 January 2020
Wednesday 8 January 2020 Thursday 9 January 2020
Thursday 9 January 2020 Friday 10 January 2020
Friday 10 January 2020 Saturday 11 January 2020

There will be a special collection of Christmas trees and garden waste on week commencing January 13 for residents who subscribe to the green bin collection service and who have booked a Christmas tree collection.

For more details click here.