Royal Northern Sinfonia

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 28/09/2022
7:30 pm

Influence Church


Bruch Octet for Strings

Grace Evangeline Mason My Thoughts Fly in at your Window

Schubert Octet

Richmondshire Concerts are thrilled to open their 75th anniversary season with members of Royal Northern Sinfonia.  Royal Northern Sinfonia, orchestra of Sage Gateshead, is the UK’s only full-time chamber orchestra. Founded in 1958, RNS has built a worldwide reputation for the North East through the quality of its music-making and the immediacy of the connections the musicians make with audiences.

Max Bruch’s Octet for Strings is a beautiful, romantic and fun work that lay dormant for much of the 20th century – written in 1920, it was premiered only in 1937 and finally published in 1996. Supporting this season’s “young artists” theme, Royal Northern Sinfonia have chosen to perform Grace Evangeline Mason’s composition My Thoughts Fly in at your Window, a short two-movement chamber work for wind and strings inspired by the final line of Sara Teasdale’s poem “At Night”.  Schubert’s Octet, in contrast to the Bruch Octet, combines wind instruments with strings; this glorious masterpiece hardly needs introduction.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.