More than 110 riders take part in Dick Horner Memorial Trial

Martyn Alderson.

Richmond Motor Club held the Dick Horner Memorial Trial near Wensley on Sunday.

The day started off very chilly, with several rain showers making the conditions more challenging and the sections even trickier.

Over 110 riders set off to tackle three laps of 12 sections on the Main Course, and it was also a great turn out for the Conducted Course, with 16 up-and-coming riders competing in smaller sections. It was a good day for Vertigo, with the top three riders of the trial competing on the same make.

Tom Middleton (Vertigo) won the trial overall, on 11 marks lost, with Tom Housecroft (Vertigo) not far behind on 12, and Aran Drachenberg (Vertigo) on 15.

On the Clubman A “Green” Course, Martyn Alderson (Beta) took the lead, only dropping eight marks, closely followed by Roger Williams (Beta) and Andrew Payne (Vertigo) on nine and ten marks respectively.

For the Youth Green Course, George Hird (Sherco) and Jack Vasey (Beta) were neck and neck, both losing 23 marks, but it was George who took the top spot in the end. Charlie Astwood (Sherco) rounded off the top three on 44 marks lost after a few slack 5s throughout the day.

The Clubman B Route was won by Paul Wearmouth (Montesa), losing four marks, closely followed by Adrian Harrison (TRRS), also on four marks. Paul Dennis (BSA) did well to come first in the Twinshock Class and third overall, losing only six marks.

The Youth Riders found the day more challenging, with the scores jumping higher. Joe Younghusband (Beta) finished with 43 marks lost, taking the top spot in the Youth A Class. Harvey Rutter (Sherco) on 57 marks lost and Bobbie Pulman (Beta) on 65 marks lost came in second and third place respectively in their class.

Koby Smith (Beta) did brilliantly in the Youth B Class, dropping 17 marks throughout the day, followed by Alfie Drachenberg (Beta) on 50 marks lost.

The Youth C Class riders did well to ride the Clubman sections on the Main Route. Bailey Huntbach (Beta) won on 83 marks lost, then Alfie Astwood (Beta) and Matthew Hall (Beta) finished in second and third on 86 and 90 marks lost.

The Youths on the Conducted Course enjoyed their day – Jacob Smith (Beta) did exceptionally well in the Youth D Class to only lose 6 marks across 3 laps of 8 sections. Isaac Tiplady (Oset) was second in the D Class on 47 marks lost, followed by Harry Mason (Oset) on 55 marks lost.

Dexter Handley (Oset) was the only competitive Youth E Class rider, and finished with 88 marks lost.

As always, Richmond Motor Club would like to thank the landowners, observers, Clerks of Course, Secretary, caterers and everybody else involved in the running of the trial. Well done to all the riders for braving the cold, especially the youths.

Richmond Motor Club were deeply saddened to learn that photographer and journalist Barry Robinson passed away following a short illness.

Barry had a close association with Richmond Motor Club over many many years, supporting, attending events and providing photographs and reports for the Club. Barry will be missed and remembered by many.

Dick Horner Memorial Trial 2023 Results:

Hard Course (Overall):

  1. Tom Middleton (Vertigo) 11, 2. Tom Housecroft (Vertigo) 12, 3. Aran Drachenberg (Vertigo) 15


Hard Course (Expert): 1. Aran Drachenberg (Vertigo) 15

Hard Course (Intermediate): 1. Tom Middleton (Vertigo) 11, 2. Tom Housecroft (Vertigo) 12,     3. Jack Stones (Vertigo) 23

Hard Course (Novice): 1. Thomas Fraser (Vertigo) 27, 2. Daniel Smith (Vertigo) 29, 3. Richard Fraser (Sherco) 29

Youth A Class Hard: 1. Callum Fowler (Beta) 28, 2. Josh McParland (Beta) 31, 3. Arran Sherwin (Beta) 91


Clubman A (Green) Course:

  1. Martyn Alderson (Beta) 8, 2. Roger Williams (Beta) 9, 3. Andrew Payne (Vertigo) 10

Youth Green Course:

  1. George Hird (Sherco) 23, 2. Jack Vasey (Beta) 23, 3. Charlie Astwood (Sherco) 44


Clubman B Course (Overall):

  1. Paul Wearmouth (Montesa) 4, 2. Adrian Harrison (TRRS) 4, 3. Paul Dennis (BSA) 6


Clubman Course:

  1. Paul Wearmouth (Montesa) 4, 2. Chris Laws (Scorpa) 10, 3. Jim Hudson (Beta) 11

Clubman Over 40:

  1.  Adrian Harrison (TRRS) 4, 2. Paul Sadler (Vertigo) 7, 3. Tim McParland (Beta) 11

Clubman Twinshock:

  1. Paul Dennis (BSA) 6, 2. Steve Watling (SWM) 29, 3. Mick Grant (BSA) 49

Youth A: 

  1. Joe Younghusband (Beta) 43, 2. Harvey Rutter (Sherco) 57, 3. Bobbie Pulman (Beta) 65

Youth B: 

  1. Koby Smith (Beta) 17, 2. Alfie Drachenberg (Beta) 50

Youth C:

  1. Bailey Huntbach (Beta) 83, 2. Alfie Astwood (Beta) 86, 3. Matthew Hall (Beta) 90


Conducted Course:

Youth D:

  1. Jacob Smith (Beta) 6, 2. Isaac Tiplady (Oset) 47, 3. Harry Mason (Oset) 55

Youth E:

  1. Dexter Handley (Oset) 88

Youth Non-Competitive:

  1. Wilfred Simpson (Oset) 20, 2. Ben Crinson (Oset) 46