New Richmondshire district wards revealed

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Richmondshire District Council.

Today’s publication follows public consultation on its draft proposals and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Richmondshire.

All Richmondshire’s current council wards will change as a result of the review.

This story continues after the adverts:


The Commission’s final recommendations propose that Richmondshire should be represented by 24 district councillors in the future: ten fewer than the current arrangement.

The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent one three-councillor ward, six two-councillor wards and nine one-councillor wards across the district.

In total, Richmondshire will have 16 wards, eight fewer than there are now.

Richmondshire District Council had proposed 24 single councillor wards, however the commission did not favour this plan.

The commission has also rejected several of the district council’s recommendations for how the new wards should be made up.

One of the changes is the formation of a new  Hawes, High Abbotside & Upper Swaledale, which was proposed by upper dales county councillor and district councillor John Blackie and favoured by a number of parish councils in the Dales.

The Wensleydale villages of Redmire, Wensley and Preston-under-Scar will be included in a new2 Leyburn ward, while Spennithorne, Harmby and other villages will be in Lowe Wensleydale.

Professor Colin Mellors, chair of the commission, said: “We are extremely grateful to people across Richmondshire who took part in the review.

“The commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.

“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Richmondshire.”


In response to local feedback during consultation, the commission has made some changes to the proposals it originally published in October last year.

For example, the commission had previously proposed that the parish of Patrick Brompton should be part of a Scotton ward.

However, during consultation, local people described the strong community links between Patrick Brompton and the Lower Wensleydale ward.

The commission listened to those views and has changed its recommendations so that Patrick Brompton will become part of the Lower Wensleydale ward.

Elsewhere in the district, the commission has changed its draft recommendations to reflect local evidence that came forward during the consultation with local people.

As such, the parish of Uckerby will be part of the Catterick & Brompton-on-Swale ward, the parish of Newton-le-Willows is included in the Lower Wensleydale ward and Hunton parish joins the Scotton ward.

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the commission’s website at

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft Order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2019.

Key to map:

1          Catterick & Brompton-on-Swale

2          Colburn

3          Croft & Middleton Tyas

4          Gilling West

5          Hawes, High Abbotside & Upper Swaledale

6          Hipswell

7          Leyburn

8          Lower Swaledale & Arkengarthdale

9          Lower Wensleydale

10        Melsonby

11        Middleham

12        Richmond East

13        Richmond North

14        Richmond West

15        Scotton

16        Yoredale

The former Richmondshire ward structure.