Proposed changes to district ward boundaries revealed

The proposed new Richmondshire ward boundaries.

Richmondshire District Council has published its recommendations for the changes to the district ward boundaries.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is reviewing the district ward boundaries to ensure all wards have roughly the same number of people in.

The exercise will also reduce the number of Richmondshire councillors from 34 to 24.

The district council’s proposed submission is for 24 single councillor wards, as opposed to some wards having two councillors as is the situation now.

It has put together following the formation of a working group.

A draft submission states that the proposed ward names are considered to be distinct and easily identifiable.

The report adds: “All members were consulted and asked to suggest names for the new wards and these were deliberated by the working group and agreed by full council as the most apt names for the areas.”
It adds: “The council’s submission has been drawn up based on 24 mrmbers and having regard to electoral equality, aims to incorporate existing town and parish council boundaries and existing identified communities.

“The working group was also keen that the scheme focused on single member wards across the district. The working group felt that single Member wards would:-

• Be fairer for independent candidates standing in any particular ward;

• Be better for voters in that there is more clarity when they come to vote and also in that they are clear who their ward Councillor is; and

• Making canvassing easier.

The report said that having single member wards also made sense for the parish councils as in the majority of cases they will only need to liaise with one district councillor per ward.

The submission will be discussed at an extraordinary council meeting on Tuesday, September 5.

The new wards would be:

  • Swaledale & Arkengarthdale – Arkengarthdale – Grinton & Ellerton Abbey – Marrick – Marske – Melbecks – Muker – New Forest – Reeth, Fremington & Healaugh
  • Hawes and Bainbridge – Hawes – Bainbridge – High Abbotside
  • Yoredale – Aysgarth – Askrigg – Bishopdale – Burton-cum-Walden – Carperby-cum-Thoresby – Castle Bolton with East and West Bolton – Low Abbotside – Newbiggin – Redmire – Thoralby – Thornton Rust
  • Leyburn West – Bellerby – Leyburn (part) – Preston -Wensley
  • Leyburn East – Harmby, Leyburn, Spennithorne
  • Coverdale and Middleham – Caldbergh with East Scrafton – Carlton Highdale – Carlton Town – Coverham with Agglethorpe – East Witton – Melmerby – Middleham – Thornton Steward – West Scrafton – West Witton
  • Lower Wensleydale – Akebar – Appleton East & West – Arrathorne – Barden – Constable Burton – East Hauxwell – Finghall – Garriston – Hornby – Hunton – Hutton Hang – Newton-le-Willows – Patrick Brompton – Tunstall – West Hauxwell
  • Catterick Village
  • Brough – Catterick Village (part), Brough St Giles, Colburn (part)
  • Colburn East
  • Colburn West
  • Hipswell East – Hipswell (part), Scotton (part), Colburn (part)
  • Hipswell West
  • Brompton-on-Swale – Brompton-on-Swale – Easby
  • Scorton Bolton-on-Swale – Ellerton-on-Swale – Moulton- North Cowton – Scorton – Uckerby
  • Barton – Barton – Cleasby – Croft-on-Tees – Dalton-on-Tees – Eryholme – Newton-on-Morrell – Stapleton
  • Melsonby and Middleton Tyas – Aldbrough St John – Cliff – Manfield- Melsonby – Middleton Tyas
  • Richmond North – Aske, Gilling West – Richmond (part)
  • Richmond East – Richmond (part) – Skeeby
  • Richmond Central
  • Richmond South
  • Richmond West and Lower Swaledale – Downholme – Hudswell – Richmond (part) – St Martins – Stainton – Walburn
  • Newsham with Eppleby – Caldwell – Carkin – Dalton – East Layton – Eppleby – Forcett – Gayles – Kirby Hill – Newsham – Ravensworth – Stanwick St John – West Layton – Whashton

To read the full report click here.