Richmond School science students honoured at awards ceremony

Taryn Hodgson with Professor Nigel Glover, head of the department of physics at Durham University, and Steph Bartle.

Two Richmond School students have been honoured at a ceremony to celebrate the scientists of the future.

Taryn Hodgson and James Newson were among 35 young people from schools and colleges across the region who were nominated for the awards from Durham University and The Ogden Trust at the seventh annual Durham Schools’ Physicist of the Year awards.

The students were nominated by their teachers, who selected students based on their hard work, contributions in class and progress over the past year.

The award-winning students attended a celebration ceremony at the university’s Calman Learning Centre, accompanied by their families and teachers.

Each student received their award from Professor Nigel Glover, head of the university’s physics department, and Steph Bartle, a former pupil of Framwellgate School Durham who completed an MPhil in astronomy and has just completed her teacher training, both at Durham University.

The evening also included interactive experiments run by staff and students from the University’s Physics Department.

Dr Lorraine Coghill, the University’s Ogden Science Outreach Coordinator, said: “It’s wonderful to hear of all the amazing achievements of these young people.

“Their dedication to improving their knowledge of physics, as well as extra things like supporting other students, setting up astronomy clubs and running their own experiments is inspiring. To be able to welcome them to the University together with their families and teachers is such a privilege.

“As a University, we are proud to work in partnership with schools, bringing the world-leading research that happens right here in the North East into classrooms, supporting the teaching and learning of physics, and highlighting the opportunities that physics-related careers can bring.”

The awards ceremony was held on Tuesday 25 June. The awards are supported by The Ogden Trust, which aims to increase the uptake of physics in post-16 education, particularly for those from under-represented groups.

Dr Amnah Khan, from The Ogden Trust, said: “It is fantastic to be able to recognise and reward the efforts of such outstanding and enthusiastic students, and to be able to celebrate the young physicists of tomorrow with their families and teachers.”