Richmondshire county council candidates announced

John Blackie and Yvonne Peacock.

The candidates contesting the Richmondshire divisions have been announced for this year’s county council elections.

Six councillors will be selected when voters go to the polls on Thursday, May 4 to elect the members to represent them on North Yorkshire County Council for the next four years.

29 people are standing in Richmondshire, with the Green Party, Labour and the Conservatives having a candidate contesting each division.

This story continues after the adverts:


The Lib Dems have candidates in all but the Upper Dales election.

There are five independents standing, including Stuart Parsons, Helen Grant and John Blackie who were all elected as county councillors last time around, and one UKIP.

There will be at least two new county councillors when the results are in next month, with Middle Dales Tory county councillor Roger Harrison-Topham standing down this time.

Standing for the Conservatives instead is Richmondshire district councillor Karin Sedgwick.

The death of Michael Heseltine, long-standing councillor for Richmondshire North, means this division will also have a new representative.

The new Tory candidate is Richmondshire councillor Angus Thompson.

In the Upper Dales, former Richmondshire District Council leader John Blackie will take on the current district council leader Yvonne Peacock.

Among the candidates trying to unseat Conservative county council leader Carl Les in the Catterick Bridge division is Richmondshire district independent councillor Angie Dale and former district councillor Jane Parlour, who is standing for the Lib Dems.

County residents who are eligible to vote but are not yet on the electoral register have until only April 13 to register to enable them to vote in the  elections.

Officials say if you have not yet received a poll card, you may not be registered.

Visit to register or contact your district council for more information.

For registered voters who will not be able to attend a polling station on 4 May, deadlines are also approaching for the submission of postal vote and proxy vote applications.

People have until 5pm on Tuesday, 18 April, to apply for a postal vote and until 5pm on Tuesday, 25 April, for a proxy vote. The district council can help.


Here are the candidates in alphabetical order by division:

Catterick Bridge

Angie Dale – Independent

Dave Dalton – Green Party

Carl Les – Conservative

Gill Page – Labour

Jane Parlour – Liberal Democrat


Central Richmondshire

Ian Davidson – Labour

Helen Grant – Independent

Lawrence Grose – Conservative

Rupert Hildyard – Green

Dave Robertson – UKIP

Martin Smith – Independent

Benedicte Windle – Liberal Democrat


Middle Dales

Owain Gardner – Labour Party

Lisle Ryder – Green Party

Karin Sedgwick – Conservative

Philip Wicks – Liberal Democrat



Ann Brewer – Labour Party

Louise Dickens – Conservative

Anna Jackson – Green Party

Philip Knowles – Liberal Democrat

Stuart Parsons – Independent


Richmondshire North

Andrew Atkins – Liberal Democrat

Leslie Rowe – Green Party

Ken Smith – Labour Party

Angus Thompson – Conservative


Upper Dales

John Blackie – Independent

Robbie Kelly – Green

Yvonne Peacock – Conservative

Brian Pocknee – Labour Party