Richmondshire Under 13s crowned Yorkshire Champions

Richmondshire's Under 13 Yorkshire Champions.

For the last two years Richmondshire and New Rover CC from Adel, Leeds, have led the way in Yorkshire junior cricket.

Until Sunday New Rover have had the upper hand, having defeated the Under 13s last season and the Under 15s earlier this season.

On Sunday Richmondshire came out on top, with the U13s winning by nine wickets.

Put in to bat, New Rover were unable to cope with the quality of the Richmondshire opening bowlers. Sophie White (three for nine) struck first with just two on the board. Two smart stumpings by wicketkeeper Bertie Morris accounted for two more , the first off the bowling of Teddy Brain (one for six) then from Sophie. Who then followed with a clean bowled which left New Rover on 14 for four.

Only one New Rover batsmen looked comfortable and when he was required to retire on 30 the innings folded. Largely due to an excellent spell of bowling from Beth Poole (four for 22).

In the week of the critical report on diversity in cricket, it was good to see two girls playing a key part in Richmondshire’s victory.

The New Rover total of 60 looked very achievable and so it proved. Openers Archie Maclelland and Ollie Taylor made a good start until Ollie was leg before with the score on 16. Archie was joined by Bertie Morris, and despite New Rover trying six different bowlers they were unable to stem the flow of runs. Archie went on to score 31 before retiring not out and Bertie 18.

Richmondshire achieved the winning total of 65 for one in just 11 overs. They will now play the Durham champions Whitburn at Richmond Hurgill Road ground at 10am next Sunday.

The 1sts put last week’s horror show behind them with a seven wicket win at Bishop Auckland. After winning the toss Richmondshire put Bishop into bat. With Josh Dowson injured Richmondshire were relieved to welcome back Harvey Websdale from his injury.

Harvey (four for 30) and fellow opener Jonny Carr (two for 21) soon started to take wickets, although it required Sam Wood to remove top scorer Pattison for 36. Connor Blaxall-Hill (three for 31) then took the last three wickets for just on run leaving Bishop on 102 in 37.5 overs.

An opening stand of 67 between Bob Carr (31) and Gary Pratt (46) put Richmondshire well on the way. Mike Layfield went for a duck but Dan Hodgson and Connor-Blaxall Hill had no trouble in sealing the win after 18.3 overs. Twenty points putting them up to sixth in the table.

The 2nds got their week off to a good start with an eight wicket win over Rockcliffe Park 1sts in the Division one 100. Electing to bat Rockcliffe were all out for 104 with Jake Percival taking three for 23.

Tom Dowson then set about bowling to score 56 not out and Jake Percival added 26. Richmondshire making 110 for 2.

In Saturday’s league fixture Billingham Synthonia chose to bat and amassed a challenging total of 291 for eight. Jordan Moss taking four for 60.

In reply Richmondshire made 257 for seven to hold out for a draw with Sam Winter scoring 51, Alex Percival 44, Jonny Baines 42 not out and Max Percival 33.

The 4th team had a five wicket win over Great Ayton 2nds. Put in to bat Great Ayton were all out for 87, Mark Walker taking three for 12 and James Cox two for nine. Griff Bewell 27 not out and Isaac Bottomley 21 not out Richmondshire made the required runs with 88 for five.

The 5th team played at Raby Castle 2nds and having chosen to bat first and were very dependent on 71 from captain Mike White for the total of 125 for 7. Raby were relatively untroubled in reaching 129 for two ,the two wickets falling to Under 13 Will Fudali with two for 29.

The policy of using the third team to introduce juniors to senior cricket continues to pay dividends with 15 year old Jack Platt making a maiden century of 188 against Middlesbrough 3rds. That was part of a total of 254 for nine, John Clark adding 45 and Griffin Bewell 31.

Middlesbrough held out for a draw with 200 for eight All eight wickets being taken by juniors. Max Percival three for 31, James Cox two for 34, Raam Raj two for 34 and Joe White one for 36.